Provost Advisory Committee

The Provost Advisory Committee on Accessibility Resources comprises faculty, students, and administrative staff appointed annually by the Provost. This university wide committee helps to assess the needs of this population and recommend policies, processes, and resources for improving the physical and functional aspects of accessibility for the campus community. The major issues for this committee include access to facilities, supportive resources, and communication of accessibility concerns within the Yale community.

Every member of the Advisory Committee serves on a sub-committee to gather and prepare information focused on specific concerns.

The Facilities Access Group helps to assess the accessibility of buildings and grounds. It works with other departments to review new and renovated facilities for accessibility and evaluates needs and priorities for annual budgeting recommendations. It develops and monitors supplementary standards for planning accessible facilities and for maintenance of accessible facilities once they have been achieved.

The Education, Awareness and Publicity group develops educational programs and publicity which broadens the awareness of special needs and resources for persons with disabilities.

The Service group helps to assess the special needs for services, such as transportation and access along paths-of-travel, and state-of-the-art resources for assistive technologies. It further recommends guidelines to make these services available for persons dependent on prompt and timely services.

Technology Access group identifies accessibility issues related to the use of electronic resources at Yale University and works within the institutional framework to partner with relevant units responsible for their design and delivery to increase awareness of the issues and to recommend options for accommodations.

For further information, contact:

  • The Provost Advisory Committee on Accessibility Resources
    Chairperson, Carl Baum
     
  • The Office of Institutional Equity and Access
    Director, Valarie Stanley
     
  • Student Accessibility Services
    Director, Sarah Scott Chang

2019 - 2020 Provost Advisory Committee on Accessibility Resources

Carl Baum, Chair (2011)
Professor
Pediatric Emergency Medicine
100 York St.
carl.baum@yale.edu
737-7414

Susan Abramson (2015)
Manager
Work Life Program and Child Care Resource
221 Whitney
susan.abramson@yale.edu
432-8069

Madison Boone (2019)
Student, Yale College
 
Erin Braselmann (2018)
Assistant Director 
Student Accessibility Services
35 Broadway, rear entrance
432-2324
 
Brendan Campbell (2019)
Student, Yale College
 

Sarah Chang (2017)
Director
Student Accessibility Services
35 Broadway, rear entrance
susan.abramson@yale.edu
432-2324

Zach Connerty-Marin (2018)
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Representative
 
Tobias Crawford (2018)
Assistant General Counsel
General Counsel
2 Whitney Ave.
432-8056
 
Tarek Fahmy (2018)
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and of Immunobiology
School of Engineering and Applied Science
55 Prospect St.
432-1043
 

Howard Forman (2015)
Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
Institute of Social and Policy Studies of Economics, of Management and of Public Health
789 Howard Ave.
howard.forman@yale.edu
785-2384​

James Fullton (2018)
Sr. Architect Planner
University Planning Construction and Renovation
2 Whitney Ave.
432-9652
 

Robert Harper-Mangels (2011) 
Assistant Dean
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
1 Hillhouse
robert.harper-mangels@yale.edu
432-2744

David Hirsch (2012)
Director of Academic IT Strategy
Yale Center for Teaching and Learning
320 York
david.hirsch@yale.edu
432-5229

Cathy Jackson (2018)
Director of Planning Administration
University Planning Construction and Renovation
2 Whitney Ave.
432-6579
 

Maria Kaliambou (2013)
Senior Lector 1 European Studies
European Studies Council
LUCE 244
34 Hillhouse Ave
maria.kaliambou@yale.edu
436-4194

Lisa Kimmel (2015)
Program Manager 2
Wellness Program
55 Lock St.
lisa.kimmel@yale.edu
436-5484

Ruth Koizim (2002)
Senior Lector
Department of French
82-90 Wall Street
ruth.koizim@yale.edu
432-4904

Jake Langbein (2019)
Student, School of Management
 

Brian Linde (2018)
Instructor
Occupational Medicine
367 Cedar St.
brian.linde@yale.edu

Kristi Lockhart (2007)
Lecturer; Associate Research Scientist
Psychology
2 Hillhouse
kristi.lochkart@yale.edu
432-0190

Patrick Loria (2015)
Professor 
Chemistry and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
225 Prospect St.
patrick.loria@yale.edu
436-2518

Cindy Miller (2018)
Associate Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
789 Howard Ave. 
 
Susan Olson (2019)
Associate Director of Accommodations
Student Accessibility Services
35 Broadway, rear entrance
432-2324
 
Susan Parke (2018)
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Psychiatry, School of Medicine
34 Park St.
 

Patricia Ryan-Krause (2011)
Associate Professor
School of Nursing
400 West Campus Dr.
patricia.ryan-krause@yale.edu
737-2553

Joel Sanders (2018)
Professor (Adjunct) of Architecture
School of Architecture
180 York St.
432-0263
 

Lisa Sawin (2014)
Director, User Experience and Digital Strategy
Information Technology Services
25 Science Park 578
Lisa.sawin@yale.edu
436-3850

Arya Singh (2019)
Student, Yale College
arya.singh@yale.edu

Cynthia Smith (2008)
Associate Provost for Health Affairs and Academic Integrity
Provost Office
2 WGS
cynthia.a.smith@yale.edu
432-4446

Valarie Stanley (2007)
Director
Office for Equal Opportunity Programs
221 Whitney Ave.
valarie.stanley@yale.edu
432-8249

Dorothy van Rhijn, M.D. (2002)
Chief of Employee Health; Clinical Instructor Internal Medicine Education
Yale University Health Services
55 Lock St.
dorothyann.vanrhijn@yale.edu
432-0071

Sonia Valle (2018)
Senior Lector II in Spanish and Portuguese
Department of Spanish and Portugese
82-90 Wall St.
432-8065
 
Michael Vaughn (2018)
Associate Director of Digital Accessibility
Information Technology Services
150 Munson St. 
432-9620
 

Glenn Weston-Murphy (2016)
Engineering Design Advisor and Lecturer
Mechanical Engineering and Materials
Mason Lab 85
glenn.weston-murphy@yale.edu
436-1925

Alexander Westphal (2018)
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and in the Child Study Center
Psychiatry, School of Medicine
34 Park St.
 

List current as of 11/25/2019